Alaska Marijuana Laws
Alaska’s Medical Marijuana law was adopted in 1998 and was later amended in 1999. The amendment required anyone seeking to use medical marijuana need as an affirmative defense for marijuana charges be registered with the state.
There are 4 items of required for when applying:
- A registry identification application
- Signed physician’s statement
- A caregiver application (if necessary)
- Photocopy of a valid Alaska State ID or Driver’s License for both patient and caregiver
The process must be completed annually, and if the applicant is denied he/she must wait 6 months to reapply. The cost of the initial application is $25 and renewals are $20.
Qualifying medical conditions include:
- Persistent Muscle Spasms
- Severe Pain, Severe Nausea
- Multiple Sclerosis
Applications must be submitted to:
Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 110699
Juneau, AK 99811-0699
Patients and caregivers may possess, for the benefit of the patient are: 1 ounce of usable cannabis, and 6 plants—of which only three may be mature. Currently, Alaska Medical Marijuana law does not recognize or allow medical marijuana dispensaries or collectives. Under Medical Marijuana Alaska laws, a caregiver may only be in the care of one patient at a time–unless specifically related to the patients under their care—and must be at least 21 years of age. Consumption of the medication is only allowed as long as it does not hinder the health of any other individuals or is in public view.
Alaska Medical Marijuana laws do not require that any insurance company be responsible for fees or costs associated with the procurement of the medication by the patient. In addition, Medical Marijuana Alaska law does not protect any employee who is a registered patient—the same being true for housing situations. Alaska Medical Marijuana laws do not accept any other state registration cards.