MMJ Cards & Doctors
How Do I Get a Medical Marijuana Card?
A Step-By-Step Guide
Most states that have legalized marijuana for medical use have some type of registration program and require patients and caregivers to obtain a medical marijuana card. Below the video are step-by-step guides to help you become a MMJ patient and legal card holder in your state.
Alaska requires you obtaining a Registry Identification Card for Medical Use of Marijuana if you are a patient or a caregiver. Part of the application process requires you to submit the following items:
- A completed Marijuana Application Packet
- A copy of the patient’s Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card.
- A copy of all caregivers’ Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card.
- A signed statement from the patient’s physician that addresses the patient’s condition, states that the physician personally examined the patient and how the physician came to the conclusion that medical marijuana was justified. Americans for Safe Access: Becoming a Patient in Alaska – Written Certification Must be Provided to Prove Eligibility
- If the patient is a minor, an original (not photocopied) statement from the minor’s parent or legal guardian that gives consent.
- A nonrefundable fee of $25.00 ($20.00 for a renewal)
Application, documents and fee should be sent to:
Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics Marijuana Registry
P.O. Box 110699
Juneau, AK 99811-0699.
Alaska Division of Public Health: Marijuana Application Packet
In order to obtain a card as a caregiver, you must be at least 21 years old, not currently on parole or probation, and never have been convicted of a felony offense. If your application is denied, you will not be allowed to resubmit it for 6 months.
The California Medical Marijuana Program is an optional program that is regulated on the county level, not the state level, by the California Department of Public Health: Medical Marijuana Program
To register, you will need to contact your county. A complete listing of each county’s medical marijuana program is listed on the California Department of Public Health website.
- You will need to fill out an application.
- You will also need documentation of the patient’s medical records.
- The cost for registering includes a $66.00 state fee plus any additional county fees. Medi-Cal recipients are charged a $33 application fee.
Coloradians wishing to obtain marijuana for medical use must qualify for a Medical Marijuana Registry identification card from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. Medicinal Marijuana Cards can be obtained by submitting the following to the state:
- A completed New/Renewal Application for Identification Card.
- A copy of your Colorado driver’s license or ID card.
- A non-refundable $90 application fee (check or money order made out to CDPHE).
- The physician certification form completed and signed by a doctor licensed to work in Colorado.
Items should be sent to:
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment: Medical Marijuana Registry
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, Colorado 80246-1530.
As of March 2010, walk-up applications are not reviewed immediately due to the high volume of applications. Only sealed envelopes will be accepted.
In Hawaii, patients are required to have a medical marijuana card, and must register with the Narcotics Enforcement Division of the Department of Public Safety. A patient must:
- Ask their doctor to fill out a written certification form from the Department of Public Safety
+Forms must be filled out in the doctor’s office and cannot be taken home
+Forms can also be obtained by contacting the Department of Public Safety at (808) 837-8470
- The form must be sent with a copy of the patient’s and the patient’s primary caregiver’s current Hawaii driver’s licenses, Hawaii state identification cards or Passports.
- Payment can be in the form of a personal, certified, or cashier’s check or money order and should be made out to the “Narcotics Enforcement Division.”
Forms should be sent to the following address:
Narcotics Enforcement Division
3375 Koapaka Street, Suite D-100
Honolulu, Hawaii 96819
In Maine, there is no official registration program or card necessary. Residents may possess a “usable amount of marijuana for medical reasons” if they have written documentation or an authenticated copy of their medical records.
The documentation or records must show:
- The person has been diagnosed with one of the conditions approved under Maine law.
- The physician mentioned on the documentation or records has a “bona fide physician-patient relationship with the person
Caregivers may lawfully possess marijuana if they are determined to be a “designated caregiver” under the law and is possessing it as part of their duties as designated caregiver.
Note that as of May 2010, new rulings were put in place to establish a formal dispensary program. Once the program is in place, the procedures to get a medical marijuana card in Maine will likely change.
In Maryland, there is no medicinal marijuana card registration program set-up. Maryland marijuana law allows a defendant to use “medical necessity” as a defense for a marijuana possession charge, providing that they possess less than one ounce. The laws do not address growing marijuana, even if it is for medical use. The maximum penalty for the charge is a $100 fine.
Note: A major bill was passed by the Maryland Senate in April 2010 that would establish Maryland as a medical marijuana state, but it must be approved by the Maryland House. If this law is enacted, it could change the method of obtaining a medical marijuana card in Maryland.
To obtain a medical marijuana registry identification card in Michigan, you must fill out an application packet. The packet requires:
- Listing basic patient information
- Primary caregiver information
- Identification of persons allowed to possess the patient’s marijuana plants
- Physician certification form
- Photo identification copies for patient and caregivers (if applicable)
The application fee is $100, or $25 for Medicaid, SSI or SSD
All application information must be submitted in one envelope to the address listed at the top of the application form. Processing occurs within 15 days and applicants will receive written notice as to their medical marijuana request.
In Montana, patients and caregivers must register with the the Quality Assurance Division of the Department of Public Health and Human Services. To register, the patient or caregiver must:
- Complete the application form
- You must have a valid Montana driver’s license or state identification card.
- Provide written certification from a doctor that the patient is a qualifying patient
- A $25 application applies
Send the application, written certification, and $25 application fee to:
Department of Public Health and Human Services / Quality Assurance Division Licensure Bureau
PO Box 202953
Helena, MT 59620-2953
Patients must register with the Nevada State Health Division and obtain a registry identification card.
To obtain an application for the card, you must send a written request to:
Nevada State Health Division
1000 E William Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701.
- Include the address where the application should be sent on the request.
- If you have a caregiver, request a caregiver packet.
- If the application is for a minor, request a minor release packet.
- An application request fee of $50 must be included with the request. Make checks or money orders out to the Nevada State Health Division.
Once you have received and completed your application there will be an additional $150 registration fee that must accompany it.
In order to use marijuana for medical purposes in New Mexico, the following items must be submitted to the Department of Health:
- Complete a Participant Application
- Medical Release Form
- Certification from appropriate medical specialist and/or medical records for chronic pain, PTSD, Glaucoma, and Inflammatory Autoimmune-Mediated arthritis
- Photo Identification copies
- Patient production license application (for growing medical cannabis)
- Parental consent form for patients under 18 and a caregiver application
Completed application should be mailed to:
Medical Cannabis Program New Mexico Department of Health
1190 St. Francis Drive
PO BOX 26110
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110
Questions regarding the application process should be sent to: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program is a registry program that is part of the Oregon Department of Human Services Public Health Division. When registering, patients will need to indicate a caregiver and grow site. Doing so on the application protects them from prosecution under Oregon law.
- Complete the application
- Provide a copy of your Oregon photo ID card, Oregon driver’s license, or a current photo ID and a copy of your Oregon voter’s registration card
- Listing a primary caregiver is optional if the patient is over 18
- You or your caregiver may choose to grow marijuana or you may choose a third party to grow the marijuana for you
+Grow sites cannot be P.O. boxes
+Growers are subject to a criminal history check for felony convictions
+You must provide a copy of the person’s current Oregon photo ID
- Include a statement from your attending physician. The form for this statement is available online
If the patient is a minor, attach a declaration from the person responsible for the minor. The form for this statement is available online.
Applications should be sent to:
PO BOX 14450
Portland, OR 97293-0450.
You can contact the Oregon Department of Human Services by calling
In Rhode Island, the Department of Health will issue a registry identification card to patients and primary caregivers provided they submit the following information:
- From a medical doctor that the patient has a relationship with, written certification which states that:
+The patient has a debilitating condition and what specifically that condition is.
+The doctor believes that the benefits outweigh the risks to the patient’s health
- A non-refundable application fee of $75 for each patient or primary caregiver
- A completed application
- Name, address, and date of birth of each primary caregiver for the patient (if any). Only two primary caregivers can be named for each qualifying patient. A caregiver can have no more than five patients in using medical marijuana.
- Background checks for each caregiver. This can be obtained by contacting the Attorney General’s Office at (401) 274-4400.
- If the patient is a minor, a completed minor form.
Applications should be sent to the address listed on the top of the application forms.
In Vermont, patients who wish to use marijuana for medical purposes must register with the Department of Public Safety. Applicants will need to complete the following:
- Complete the application
- Have your application (once completed) notarized
- Provide a digital photograph of yourself. The digital photo can be taken with your own camera or by a studio that takes passport photographs. Photographs should be included as a .jpg on a floppy disk or CD that is labeled with your name and date of birth
- Include a non-refundable $50 application fee
Applications should be sent to:
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, Vermont 05671
You can contact the registry by calling (802) 241-5115.
According to Washington State Department of Health, people who qualify under the law, may posses a 60-day supply of marijuana as long as they have a written recommendation from their Doctor. To qualify, you must:
- Be a patient of a doctor licensed (not just practicing) in Washington.
- Have been advised of the risks and benefits of using marijuana medically
- Be a resident of Washington when diagnosed.
- Be able to prove your identity with a Washington driver’s license or ID card.
- Have a formal statement from your doctor or a copy of medical records that shows a diagnosis of a condition that is approved under Washington law
Currently in D.C. it’s still illegal to possess or use marijuana in the District, even if they have a doctor’s recommendation. Under current legislation, the only marijuana that can be possessed legally is marijuana purchased from a D.C. dispensary, and currently there are none.
Once dispensaries are open patients can only legally purchase or possess 2 ounces of marijuana, but the mayor has the ability to raise that figure to 4 ounces.
Washington D.C. medicinal patients must now wait for Health Department to draft rules and regulations to govern the program.